Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Oh noes, caverns so soon! I'll just flood them.  (Read 1306 times)

Haytrid

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Oh noes, caverns so soon! I'll just flood them.
« on: March 19, 2012, 09:01:27 pm »

I did a new embark and was just digging down to find my first rock layer still in the first year when I found, on about 6 z-levels down from embark, a massive cavern complex.  Not really feeling like dealing with them I just diverted a river into them.  The river just kept on flowing for about 45 minutes, the cavern never filled up.  The question is, is this a viable way to drown nasty cavern beasties?  Unfortunately I never got the chance to explore later and find out because by the third year a necromancer infiltrated my fortress and raised some kind of flesh beast which annihilated my entire fortress in no time, this was after two years of fending off flying fire and ice skulls, bad embark point I suppose.

Flying Dice

• Bay Watcher
  • inveterate shitposter
    • View Profile
Re: Oh noes, caverns so soon! I'll just flood them.
« Reply #1 on: March 19, 2012, 09:09:57 pm »

No. If there is any contact at all with the map edges, water will flow off faster than you can fill it.

Aurora on small monitors:
1. Game Parameters -> Reduced Height Windows.
2. Lock taskbar to the right side of your desktop.
3. Run Resize Enable

kaijyuu

• Bay Watcher
  • Hrm...
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 19, 2012, 09:16:04 pm »

Which is exactly why you wall it up first.

At which point you won't get any new cavern beasties, either, so filling it with water is redundant.
Quote from: Chesterton