Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 13

Author Topic: Stellar Monarch - 4X, turn based, space empire builder with no micromanagement  (Read 42560 times)

LordArchibald

• Bay Watcher
  • Indie Game Developer
    • View Profile
    • IndieGameDev

Hi, I'm an inide game dev and in a typically game dev manner I make games :) The newest of them being a 4X strategy for PC.
I look for feedback, comments, etc.

EDIT: The game has been released in December 2016. Thanks for all your help and feedback!

EDIT: Sequel in development: http://www.bay12forums.com/smf/index.php?topic=177657.0

Basics
Name: Stellar Monarch (former: Pocket Space Empire)  EDIT: name changed
Platform: PC (planned release March 2016)   EDIT: Released :D
Theme & Genre: Space empire builder, 4X, Grand strategy
Mechanics: turn based, singleplayer

EDIT: PreOrder & Early Access (please read the disclaimer, that version is not very playable yet!) http://www.SilverLemurGames.com/stellarmonarch

EDIT: Those screens are super outdated!
First some screens (prototype, some gfx is temporary programmer's art):

And now a wall of text :D
(the design goals)

1) Feel like the Emperor, not like a logistics officer

I find it annoying that, while I have played so many strategies,
I never felt like a real Emperor, sure there are cool decisions to make and everything but...
Where are audiences? As an Emperor I surely should grant audiences!
Where are the assassination attempts (does everyone love me?),
where are the true rebels that want to overthrow me
(not just people who rebel because they are unhappy and starving, I mean real rebels,
usurpers to the throne and other scum I should crush).
Why can't I appoint governors and admirals (and I don't mean
"having mere 4 heroes that can be governors/admirals", I mean selecting
governors for *each* planet and commanders for *each* military formation).