Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: Dwarf Fortress made me lose my humanity  (Read 9492 times)

umiman

• Bay Watcher
  • Voice Fetishist
    • View Profile
Dwarf Fortress made me lose my humanity
« on: April 23, 2008, 01:44:00 am »

In fact, I think I'm going to fail a course because of unethical reasoning. Apparently people don't enjoy being considered as probability in the grand scheme of things and people don't like it when you reason justifiable murder in the face of potential gain.

Also, Facebook's evil-o-meter says I'm Satan, and that only happened after I started playing Dwarf Fortress. Everyone knows Facebook is always right, so that's irrefutable proof right there.

The side benefit is that I can assure you when I take over the world, everyone will die in a very humorous way that may or may not involve magma, kittens and a very, very big dining room.

JoRo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Dwarf Fortress made me lose my humanity
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2008, 01:56:00 am »

A very, very big dining room?  Well, then everything is A-OK(or is that A(RM)OK?).  All is forgiven with a very, very big dining room.
You have been struck down.
The giant cave spider spits out your head.

Lyrax

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2008, 02:02:00 am »

As long as we all get to eat in the dining room, too, I don't see anything wrong with that.
Witty

Comedian
Dabbling Pacifier
Dabbling Judge of Intent
Skilled Forum Poster

Kagus

• Bay Watcher
  • Olive oil. Don't you?
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 23, 2008, 02:04:00 am »

It's simply conditioning.  You know how dwarves become hardened when they spend time around death?  Well, it happens to the players as well.

Capntastic

• Bay Watcher
  • Greetings, mortals!
    • View Profile
    • A review and literature weblog I never update