Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: New guy in the house.  (Read 5115 times)

Sabreur

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: New guy in the house.
« Reply #15 on: March 15, 2012, 02:58:44 pm »

Newbie here as well.  It took me awhile to get into it, but the others are right.  Dwarf Fortress is basically a sandbox game, if sandboxes were filled with manic-depressive alcoholics and magma.  One of my early forts failed because it got too boring - I walled it in with insane numbers of traps, walled off all cavern access, didn't do anything with magma, didn't dig too deep...  In the end, the only fun thing that happened was accidentally letting an entire goblin siege force loose in the dining hall (moving caged prisoners is a little tricky, as it turns out).  The "Losing is Fun" motto isn't a joke - half the fun of the game really is seeing what can go wrong.

The best way to have fun is to just go crazy.  Confiscate everything from the elven traders and try to sell them wooden carvings of burning trees.  Try to make a magma cannon.  Relocate your entire fort 80 Z-levels underground and make traders drive down a bridge over a magma lake to reach the depot.  Experiment with using water pressure to launch vampires at goblin sieges.  Train several hundred war dogs and link them to a single cage right in the path of invaders.  Or just keep playing for another few game years and rest assured that the game itself will find a way to solve the 'what now?' problem.

Malarauko

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: March 15, 2012, 03:11:14 pm »