Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 5

Author Topic: New to this game, how to progress [Spoilers]  (Read 11278 times)

zoutzakje

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
New to this game, how to progress [Spoilers]
« on: April 14, 2012, 07:32:53 am »

howdy, I'm zout and I'm new to this game. I recently discovered DF when I read some people talking about it on another forum and I was kind of scared off by the whole ASCII bit at first. Until I realized I had played more games that lacked some of the better graphics, but instead had an extremely complex and interesting gameplay (like AI war). After reading the entire story of Boatmurdered I agreed that this would be such a game.
I didn't go for the lazy newb pack. I am a newb, but I'm not lazy. Figured I'd learn the game by searching on the wiki, asking experienced players for their advice, and learning from my mistakes.
The wiki has been extremely helpful so far. Really got me to learn a few of the basics pretty quick. It would have probably taken me a lot of time to figure out how to start mining for example, if there was no wiki.
But instead of using only the wiki I figured I'd introduce myself on the forums, become an active poster, and ask for experienced players opinions regularly as well.
My first fortress is still alive, which I am quite proud of (even though it's not even winter of the first year yet), but I could use some advice on what to do next. I don't care if I lose the fort though, that's all part of the Fun. Especially since I'm eager to try out reclaim the fortress as well.
I started with nearly the easiest settings possible when creating my new world. I've learned that it's a bad thing to underestimate the difficulty of games. Especially when we're talking about such complex games like DF.