Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Strange migrations...  (Read 8162 times)

byrnsey

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Strange migrations...
« on: April 19, 2012, 06:29:03 pm »

So I've been playing for two years now and every migration shares the same characteristics.

All dwarves are competent in a weapon skill.  All dwarves are Adequate maximum in labor.  Dwarf labor distribution seems more useless than usual, except for my starting seven, my fort consists almost entirely of adequate fishery workers, farmers(non-secific), and animal trainers.

Is this normal?  I'm guessing my civ is at war with an elven one (almost everyone shows up with an elf or large animal kill or two under their belt)  does that mean no one takes a civilian job in worldgen?  I'm currently at peace with the local elf civ, although I did accidentally offer them a wood crossbow and then stole what I needed before they could leave.  So that may change.

Hokan

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Strange migrations...
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2012, 06:50:50 pm »

I've been getting similar patterns. I'm guessing it relates to the "jobs" that your home civ mainly employs.
Valuing life seems too close to an aesthetic rule for me, I think.
Only in Dwarf Fortress is the value of life placed as "aesthetic."

byrnsey

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2012, 09:58:37 pm »

It's just wierd that everyone is adequate.  No experts, legendaries, or even novices.  Anything labor, is adequate.  All weapon skills are competent, all other combat skills, shield, dodge, etc., are novice.  I did just get a great tracker though.

GavJ

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 19, 2012, 10:01:01 pm »

Yep, that sounds pretty standard.

More boring migrants is a new feature I guess.
Cauliflower Labs – Geologically realistic world generator devblog