Other Projects > Play With Your Buddies

Let's Play: X-COM Interceptor: Flying Blind!

(1/14) > >>

USEC_OFFICER:
Hello Bay12! I have recently purchused the X-COM bundle from Steam, and what better way to celebrate than with a Let's Play of X-COM Interceptor!

Why do an Interceptor Let's Play?

Mostly through elimination. The original X-COM has been done to death as a let's play, I don't have the balls to play Terror from the Deep, Apocalypse currently looks like pixel vomit, and I wouldn't touch Enforcer with a ten-foot stick (which means that I'm saving it for later).

Okay... So what is X-COM Interceptor?

X-COM Interceptor is a X-COM spin-off flight simulator type game. You have the traditional X-COM research/base-building/protection game, but you also have first-person flight combat action. I'll be mostly focusing on the building parts of the game, since I'm a terrible pilot.

How bad of a pilot are we talking about?
Really bad. I rarely check my instruments, I have no spatial awareness, and I waste ammo like crazy. Now, I know that sounds hilarious, so maybe I'll post a dogfighting video or two. However since this is primarily going to be a screenshot LP, it sucks terribly. For example, most dogfights go like this:

1. Beginning. The nice, slow movements towards the enemy.
2. OMGWTFAGUHUHHUAHAHADFASDFAFAHLSAJFD!!!!J!!!!!!!1111!1!!
3. Huh, It's over.

Since I'm obviously too busy trying not to die in 2, I'm not taking many screenshots and thus I can't narrate the battle back to you (besides OMGWTFAGUHUHHUAHAHADFASDFAFAHLSAJFD!!!!J!!!!!!!1111!1!! of course). Mind you we'll be doing tons of dogfights anyways, so that's probably a good thing.

When does X-COM Interceptor take place?

Right after Terror from the Deep, but before Apocalyse on the X-COM timeline. However Interceptor was made after Apocalypse, if you couldn't tell from the gorgous 3D polygons.

What difficulty will you be playing at?