Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Short story: The 144 Martyrs of Granitewoman  (Read 1975 times)

tensegritydan

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Short story: The 144 Martyrs of Granitewoman
« on: October 03, 2012, 03:32:15 am »

I am brand new to the game and these are all historical figures and events from my first fortress, which failed quickly but not before creating a lot of wonderful dramatic possibilities. If people like this, I will write up stories from the second fortress I just finished--there was much hilarity with a werearmadillo...

Excerpts from the Histories of Xah Alu, the Dimension of Wind

The 144 Martyrs of Granitewoman

The following are excerpts from the personal log of Kogan Crowglaze, last mayor of Granitewoman.

Early summer, the year 256
I have taken over the mayorship from Sazir Hardygirders, who was well overtaxed by leadership duties beyond her abilities. It is judicious timing for me to have been sent here amongst the most recent reinforcements from the Lantern of Merchants. Even in the best of times, it would have been too much responsibility for a simple fishery worker such as Sazir. And these are surely not the best of times.

When my party arrived last month, we were shocked to see the surrounding fields littered with dwarven bodies and parts of bodies, and the walls within the fortress dripping with blood. Some could barely stand the sight and smell of the gore. I personally have a very high tolerance for such things. We were surprised to learn that these handful of survivors had embarked on an honorable yet seemingly futile effort to entomb every last fallen dwarf. We could not see the wisdom of expending further effort and exposing all to further risk for such a lost cause.