Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: Dwarf Fortress Sketchbook  (Read 10225 times)

KharBevNor

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Dwarf Fortress Sketchbook
« on: October 31, 2012, 11:13:58 pm »

Hi, I hope this is appropriate to post here, I'm more a lurker than anything...

Some background; I'm a fine art postgrad student, mostly working in digital print. A few months back, I felt the need to start a little side project radically different to the stuff I normally do; something that would remind me of the reasons I started drawing as a kid. I wanted to do something that was rough and ready, with physical media. I was stumped for a subject, when it came to me in a flash. My favourite game, of course! I bought myself a sketchbook, and decided that I would fill it with Dwarf Fortress drawings. I decided to keep things loose and play with a lot of different styles, and I had a great deal of fun letting my imagination run inventing things; it was also nice to do something that was very different to the 'normal' sort of DF art, which tends to be digital; especially as the graphics tablet is normally one of my most important tools. I wanted to create something of an old-school pen and paper RPG rulebook feel, with a modern twist. Some pictures were more successful than others.

Anyway, enough waffle, here are the pictures.

Spoiler: Large Images 1 (click to show/hide)

Spoiler: Large Images 2 (click to show/hide)

Spoiler: Small Images (click to show/hide)

Robocorn

• Bay Watcher
  • [DOES_NOT_EXIST]
    • View Profile
Re: Dwarf Fortress Sketchbook
« Reply #1 on: October 31, 2012, 11:23:30 pm »

This is some amazing stuff
I especially like the crafts on the third spoiler. What specifically is engraved on the axe, a carp?
Also, what medium did you use to make magma man? it really pops.

KharBevNor

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile