Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Ambushing overpowered?  (Read 1075 times)

melphel

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Ambushing overpowered?
« on: November 13, 2012, 11:51:57 pm »

I'm relatively new to adventure mode, and I've gotten my first successful adventurer.  Problem is, everything is way too easy.  As hard as the first several attempts were, sneaking made every encounter dull.  Is this normal?

Basic steps to my success:
  • sneak everywhere
  • encounter an enemy while hidden
  • throw/shoot stuff at it until they pass out from pain
  • approach and stab in face

I've single handedly wiped out entire bandit camps, titans, vampires, and dragons using this algorithm.  It feels like the training wheels version of adventuring, but my adventurers before I started doing this couldn't last more than one hour.

On a possibly unrelated note, does reading a necromancer slab or book make you a night creature even if you can't read?  Undead are no longer hostile to me and I'm not sure why.

Putnam

• Bay Watcher
  • DAT WIZARD
    • View Profile
Re: Ambushing overpowered?
« Reply #1 on: November 14, 2012, 01:17:57 am »

yes, it is

no, it shouldn't

Fortport

• Bay Watcher
  • Modest expedition leader.
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: November 14, 2012, 03:07:27 am »

MIIIIGRAAAAAANTS!!

Findulidas

• Bay Watcher
  • [NATURAL_SKILL:OFFTOPIC:5][NOTHOUGHT]
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: November 14, 2012, 04:30:03 am »

Its the true way of becoming a necromancer, sneaking in and reading the book before anyone notice that you are there. Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

If you dont like sneaking then dont, you dont have to be a sneaking swordmaster/lasher every single game.

Could as an example be a wrestler/thrower who doesnt use any weapons in melee. Its def possible and fun. Killing titans with rocks like a baws.
...wonderful memories of the creeping sense of dread...

pisskop