Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Candy mining?  (Read 1301 times)

Mohawk_Bravo

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Candy mining?
« on: December 03, 2012, 01:31:01 pm »

Hey guys, so I've recently started a new fortess after the disasterous failure of my last fortress (which came in about eight flavors of death) and a tip from a previous topic has got me thinking. Now I haven't found any workable iron ores (as I'm not really looking) but I'm interested in Candy armor and weapons for my first squad. Now from what I understand I should employ sharp weapons, not blunt ones, and since it doesn't stop certain types of damage, should I combo it with leather?

Most importantly, however, I am a noob when it comes to Candy mining and would like to know some tips. The only other time I mined Candy, I lucked out and had a huge spire in the middle of solid rock. This time, however, it looks like most are hanging perilously in some rather atmospheric lava lakes. So what are some general tips for this stuff? Should I attempt to cool the lakes with water? Or perhaps hollow out spires? Can someone please spare some tips for this shoeless Urist McCandyMiningNoob?

i2amroy

• Bay Watcher
  • Cats, ruling the world one dwarf at a time
    • View Profile
Re: Candy mining?
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2012, 01:42:22 pm »

When you are working in the middle of a lava lake this is the general procedure that I use.
1)Drop water on top of the spire until a ring of obsidian has formed around the spire.
2)Dig out the spire.