Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: I have a dragon!  (Read 2509 times)

Finn

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
I have a dragon!
« on: January 14, 2013, 03:33:11 am »

I'm not new to DF, I've been playing for a few years, but...I've never seen a dragon.  Not once in what's probably been 30 or more forts.

I was so excited when one showed up I jumped out of my seat. 

The front gate was closed, and I definitely wanted to trap him rather than fight him, so I sounded the civilian alert and ordered the military squad that barracks in the courtyard to station inside beyond the cage traps.  While I was waiting for everyone to get clear so I could open the outer drawbridge I noticed the dragon was moving. 

That's odd, I thought.  Then I noticed that he was chasing a dwarf!  WTF!?  How is there a dwarf outside?  It's not possible! 

Then I realize it's the liaison who's been waiting patiently forever for me to open the gates.  Now he's running from the dragon but headed straight towards my gate.  "OPEN THE GATE!" I yell.

I give the order to pull the lever.  The liasion reaches the closed gate.  The fastest dwarf in the kingdom reaches the lever and pulls.  The dragon arrives and...

...belches heavenly, glorious fire all over everything!  The liasion is instantly incinerated; there is nothing left of the drawbrige but a lone mechanism; everything is on fire or ashes.  I've never seen anything so beautifully awesome.

The dragon walked into the courtyard, destroyed the barracks there, destroyed the trade depot, and then marched directly into a cage trap.  (Hey, I said it was my first dragon, not my first game.)

I'm so giddy with excitement, I'm beside myself.  I'm going to build a "dragon gate" to welcome the next seige!  OMG, what fun!

(Now if I can just find it a mate...)
I thought 'complained about the draft lately' meant they didn't have a door to their room.

Xantalos