Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Worldgen help  (Read 688 times)

OverlordTNT

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Worldgen help
« on: January 18, 2013, 09:23:00 am »

Hello!

So, worldgen noob here. I am trying to create a hodgepodge messy world here. What i did was remove all "minimum number of x"  parameters(by that i mean they're all 0), set temperature range from -1000 to 1000, and changed temp x-y variance to their maximums(i also set minimum savagery to 100.) It rejects the worlds, however, when it gets to civ-gen. always, without exception.I'm playing on masterwork df, with about a third of the Fortress defence races on(all agricultural civs are off). Here's my parameters. can anyone help?
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Talvieno

• Bay Watcher
  • Hello, Death. How's life?
    • View Profile
Re: Worldgen help
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2013, 10:37:11 am »

First, let me give you a few suggestions. I think I know what you mean by "messy", but I'm not totally sure.

Set all your "X/Y Variance" options to 1000, which is a little less than 1/3 of the max, if I remember right. This will make it so that the possible variation is very high - but it keeps it from being TOO high, because we didn't set it to 3200. Setting all of these values to the max makes it impossible to gen.
At the bottom of the list, you should see a page of "minimum X count" stuff. Set it all to 0/none. This is to cut down on rejections.
Go back up and get to the minimum initial wetland/hills/forest/ocean etc. region/square count, and set all those to 0. This is also to cut down on rejections.
Set the Maximum Number of Subregions as high as it gets - I think 5000. This will give you the variance you desire.
Edit: looking at what you posted, it looks like you did all that already.

In a minute, I may upload a pic for illustration.

Also, heyaa. I'm pretty sure I remember you from Spearbreakers.