Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: The Bright Void - Universe Building Thread  (Read 5104 times)

adwarf

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
The Bright Void - Universe Building Thread
« on: February 04, 2013, 07:52:05 pm »

Main Description
The Bright Void is my name for the grimdark sci-fi universe I've been creating for a few months now, both in the two RTDs I've run/am running based in it and the actual lore writing and concept creating I've been doing. The universe of the Bright Void is a massive world spanning the hundreds of systems, and thousands of planets that make up the nations known as the Galactic Empires and the numerous other factions that are part of the Galactic Council. The people of it vary from the simple Human to the war-mongering Batarians to the ferociously loyal and determined four armed humanoids known as the Yulth. The nations of the Bright Void vary even more, and more often than not are corrupt to the core, tyrannical dictatorships, or nothing more than glorified war hordes seeking conquest.

The nations of the Galactic Empires, and the Galactic Council have managed to obtain the secrets to space travel, and have access to the warp gates that make travel from system to system possible yet all this was gained from the bones of fallen alien race, the most prominent of these races found and believed to have controlled the entire expanse of the Galactic Empires as a single almighty nation called the Ancients by the current races. Possessing tech so great they could build ships the size of continents, and launch those monstrosities millions of light years away in a few days with their mighty warp gates. Due to this many races have the ability to travel the stars but leaving much the rest of the race in somewhere between slightly advanced modern technology to almost dark ages for some.