Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Soldier training, progress report  (Read 2034 times)

Larix

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Soldier training, progress report
« on: February 27, 2013, 08:32:33 am »

Edit: Wall of text incoming!
Anyway - thoughts, suggestions, advice on what i did wrong etc. welcome. Suggestions to use danger rooms will be ignored.

So i buckled down and tried actually training dwarfs in weapon usage instead of putting ten on inactive with most labours disabled and a barracks. Drawing from forum wisdom, i started with a two-dwarf squad, complete newbies (born in the fort and drafted within a year after growing up). I micromanaged them a bit by leaving their jobs on and giving them a month of free time after every three months of training, to improve their mood - eating in the legendary dining room, talking with family and friends, being satisfied at work. Expectedly, they took a long time to level up - five and a half years until they turned elite.

Then i split them up and gave each a fresh recruit to train. Those were elite after two and a half years. Not exactly speedy, but if you could train ten dwarfs simultaneously, that should amount to a pretty good buildup, esp. considering training gives a fairly well-rounded skill distribution with good defensive skills and very very good attributes.