Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: advASCIIdraw - the advanced ASCII art program, 2.0.3 now out!  (Read 11138 times)

amulware

• Bay Watcher
  • Addicted to pixels. Making games.
    • View Profile
    • amulware.net

Hey there!

I am a programmer and I made an ASCII drawing program, with tons of features, and since this is kind of THE place for all things ASCII(far as I know), I wanted to share it with you guys.
(I have only shown this to a handful of people before and just put the first public version out there yesterday!)

TL;DR: Make awesome ASCII images with this program! Free download at bottom of post!

Screenshot of program:

The goal of this program, that I call advASCIIdraw, is to make drawing ASCII images, and especially roguelike/dungeon crawler type environments, as easy to create as possible.

It's light-weight and enables anyone to make cool ASCII art in no time, by providing tools similar to other popular painting programs, but especially adapted for ASCII.

It has many cool features, the biggest things right now being:
  • Advanced Brush
    Draw ASCII images like you are used to in other drawing programs, includes options like brush size, shape, fill rate..
  • Layers
    No good drawing program without layers!
  • Presets
    Define your own brushes consisting of multiple characters and/or colours. No need to draw your blades of grass individually, anymore!
  • Huge Canvas
    Thousands of characters across, you can make HUGE ASCII images.(And no worries, save file compression keeps your files small!)
  • Custom Charsets/Tilesets and Colour Palettes
    Easily add your own charsets and palettes to customise your images! Also add and edit colour palettes with just a few clicks right in the program!

And these are just some of what I think are the coolest things about advASCIIdraw.