Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Metal Creation Issues  (Read 674 times)

HFS Victim

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Metal Creation Issues
« on: June 03, 2013, 05:52:26 pm »

I'm relatively new at Dwarf Fortress; I've only fought one megabeast so far and am 50 dwarves away from a metropolis.
I wanted to try my hand at modding; I had a vision for a grand tower constructed of ever-warm Fire Metal, a caged dragon in a room made of the stuff (which is dragonfire-safe), a military decked out in fiery orange armor, and a broody monarch sitting on a Fire Throne.

Needless to say, I ran into problems.

I've managed to make the substance appear in the smelter menu, and it can be added as a task; but it doesn't appear to ever be made, cannot be designated in stockpiles, doesn't appear in the status screen and doesn't appear on the metalsmithing screen.

I'd like it to have all of the functions of bronze. Here are the raws I've managed to make so far.

Metal itself:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

The associated reaction:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

Help would be much appreciated as this is my first mod.

Hugo_The_Dwarf

• Bay Watcher
  • Modding Mentor
    • View Profile
    • Regeneration: Forced Evolution
Re: Metal Creation Issues
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2013, 06:02:05 pm »

saddly new entries need a new world.

scamtank

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 03, 2013, 06:04:39 pm »

"GEM" in the reagent definition refers to large gems. What you're probably looking for is ROUGH or SMALLGEM depending which way you want to swing with it.

e: Oh! You're missing a tag, I believe. Try sticking [INORGANIC:FLAME_COPPER] right above the USE_MATERIAL_TEMPLATE thing.
« Last Edit: June 03, 2013, 06:09:27 pm by scamtank »

Brilliand

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 03, 2013, 06:08:16 pm »