Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Can a self-taught programmer find a job?  (Read 13794 times)

Imperfect

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Can a self-taught programmer find a job?
« on: June 15, 2013, 02:07:41 pm »

Long version
IT industry people here, HRs, company owners, anyone else with experience in this field, I seek your counsel! For about a year, I have been teaching myself high school math for an entrance exam to a Computer Science Bc. program. I have studied some programming on my own, I found it quite enjoyable; I got some ideas for a few projects of my own, I overall like the industry and the people in it, so I decided that I want to work in it. At the same time, I was finishing a Bc. in marketing, into which I enrolled earlier mostly out of fear of not getting a job. I had no plans of working in IT then. Today, I found out that all my effort was pretty much in vain, since I failed the entrance exam miserably(38/100). I'm still accepted in another CS program, geared more towards theory, which is undesirable for me, but I need to study in order to have parental support, and thus more time for learning. Thing is, this other program is much more difficult, which is why they let anybody in. Nobody wants to go there. And, well, if I overestimated my capabilities once, chances are I actually did it twice, I just don't know it yet. After today's fiasco, I'm collecting advice from everywhere I can and looking for options. I'd still like to work in IT, and I'll still have parental support for a while, so I can devote more time to studying. After they kick me out of the college, I'll have to start working, presumably in marketing, which I guess is a decent living, but it's just not my calling. So I want to ask you, veterans and professionals who have been there:

Short version