Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 [2]

Author Topic: LARP system reccomendations.  (Read 3253 times)

ank

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: LARP system reccomendations.
« Reply #15 on: October 02, 2013, 04:01:09 am »

I'm helping to start a LARP group with some friends from school. I'm looking for some systems, and wanted to see what Bay12 likes.

So, any recommendations for a group of five to seven with the preference of a high fantasy setting?

Ok, let me be more serious this time:

What you want is as few rules as possible, and you don't people standing around, thinking about the metaphysical rules of the game, or even worse, arguing about them, when they should be focused on playing.
It's very much like how health bars ruin immersion in game.

I've had a lot of experience with LARP, and feel this might be a good time to flash my gear:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)

High Fantasy is tricky, because it involves a lot of rules. So my advice is use the part of fantasy that works without rules: Mainly fantasy races that can be convincing with the level of make-up and costume you have at hand. Orcs are great for this.
But leave out the fireballs, and the stuff that simply cannot be made real.
Leave the spectacular to Pen and Paper, and focus on human relations, a thing that's very hard to do in PnP because all but 3-5 characters in the game is controlled by one person.

To restate: make you High Fatasy as low as possible.
« Last Edit: October 02, 2013, 04:06:52 am by ank »

LeoLeonardoIII

• Bay Watcher
  • Plump Helmet McWhiskey
    • View Profile
« Reply #16 on: October 02, 2013, 12:06:56 pm »

Good advice.