Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Let's play some Dancing Robots (an online card game)  (Read 1620 times)

theTrueMikeBrown

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • TheTrueMikeBrown's patreon page
Let's play some Dancing Robots (an online card game)
« on: September 13, 2013, 08:34:56 am »

I have been making a card game called Dancing Robots since November. It takes about 30 minutes to play, and involves building robots and having them dance against each other. Players take turns drafting cards for their robots, and when someone is ready they call a dance off.

The game is supposed to be fairly light hearted, but it does involve strategy.

Since I am a software engineer I also put together a quick website where people can play the game against each other or a rudimentary AI.

Right now I am asking for some help to playtest the game. I am not looking for feedback about the visual aspects of the game or the website at the present time, just the balance of the game and the understandability of the rules document.

The rule portion of the attached document is 2.5 pages long, so it is not that hard a read (the cards and an example play are also on there for any PnPers as well as anyone who thought that an example play would be useful). Please read the rules before trying to play the game. The website does not teach people how to play, it just enables play (similar to isotropic dominion for those who used to play on that.)

If you have comments that are related to the usability of the website, or the card appearance/layout I would be happy to hear them, but keep in mind that I view both of those aspects of the game as ephemeral, so unless there is something horribly wrong it will probably take lower priority than rules changes or card balancing.

The website is here.
The rules/PnP document is here.

Thanks for your help.
What puts the "ape" in apricot?

HopFlash

• Bay Watcher