Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: WTF spider?  (Read 2915 times)

Rude

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
WTF spider?
« on: December 22, 2013, 12:38:58 pm »

So I started playing DF again after a year or so in anticipation of the pending update.
My fort is rolling along, I'm a little rusty so I'm slow getting some things up like they should be -- like clothing -- but for the most part everything is great. I've got 2 master axe dwarfs and 2 trainees coming along nicely ( I wouldn't hesitate to let any one of them solo a squad of goblins) and I'm about to add 2 more trainees and a squad of 10 no talent xbows. All kitted in bronze, soon to be steel. In short, I feel this is (or will be) a successful (long lived) fort.

I mentioned I'm a little rusty right? I've been playing Cataclysm:DDA for the past year off and on.

After a few thieves and ambushes I'm a couple years in putting together a more reliable well house and streamlining the metal industry when my first FB shows up. Actually a forest titan. No big deal right? They are usually just like big animals -- they can 1 hit you IF you get hit in the head. So far none of my soldiers have been hit at all thanks to shields and dodging -- I'm confident, I basically ignore it after making sure my soldiers are in the only path into the fort. It's a spider with venomous bite -- no dust clouds, no infectious disease, no webbing, no problem.

I have a policy of not barricading access to the fort. This is for "Fun". It's not an oversight, it's a concession: Impenetrable forts are not allowed. So I'm not surprised to see him beeline to the entrance. Next thing I know, I get a "... has been struck down" purple message.  ???