Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: 1 ... 8 9 [10]

Author Topic: Necromancers, Shadows, and Octopi (Suggestion Game)  (Read 10797 times)

Nirur Torir

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Necromancers, Shadows, and Octopi (Suggestion Game)
« Reply #135 on: April 12, 2014, 10:31:46 am »

It's not that The Grand Fair Octopus is unwilling to follow through on its own teachings. It's that, from a modern perspective, its morality is outdated. (This society looks pretty similar to European's Medieval time.)

As far as Alex can tell, it likes keeping stability and values keeping the nobility and clergy in power. Judging by mythology, might does appear to make right. ((Sorry for not mentioning these things earlier. I'm not good at exposition dumps, but feel free to ask. I will be filtering things through what Alex would know, so there may be some inaccuracy.))

Lyeos

• Bay Watcher
  • Guess who isn't back
    • View Profile
« Reply #136 on: April 12, 2014, 10:58:24 am »

Alex is a Bay 12er on a second lifetime. The preachings of a god, and one who clearly exerts power over reality yet still allows evil to exist in his own lands, aren't going to do a whole lot to shift his own views of right and wrong.

-snip-

Also, the main god, who's existence I have seen evidence of, hates it, and is said to annihilate the souls of necromancers at every opportunity.

Bet I could do funny things with magic. Necromancy, here I come!"

To be fair, he is a Bay 12er... Unless he's crazy, necromancy should appeal to him...

At the same time,  the last bit about the main god makes that waaay more reasonable. Not having necromancy > Getting his soul annihilated.

Of course, I didn't read anything between here and page one, so I probably missed a lot of important details. I should stop doing that.
Take a closer look at this text!

Harbingerjm

• Bay Watcher
  • [ENTROPY INTENSIFIES]
    • View Profile