Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: The Coal of Legend takes on The Future Plane (StolenFortresses Year 3 [Embark])  (Read 1115 times)

Maul_Junior

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile

World Information (Bear with me, I just recently discovered how awesome some Legends can be):

List of all Civilizations and Settlements as of Year 2

Friendly Races:

Hostile Races:

Spoiler: The Walled Orb, Nagas (click to show/hide)

The Hardy Dwarves

Fortress Name: Stolenfortresses
     Founded and Ruled by The Abbey of Lusts

This was my first major attempt to embark from a world gen that wasn't the standard "History Length", "Savagery", etc decisions, and instead has that whole damn list of choices. I decided I wanted to try a Volcano embark, since I've never done that before. I also slightly increased the embark points because I was fiddling with it, felt bad and swapped it back to what I thought was a decent amount (1500) and couldn't remember the actual, normal number of points.

I tend to do underground, normal farming with lots and lots of anmals for war, so I decided to switch on the Harder Farming, bring lots of seeds, lots of alcohol, and only a few animals (though 5 Plump Helmet men), and a pair of Dewbeetles for emergency booze. I did make a couple mistakes, however. I apparently forgot to grab a Changeling Breeder to go with my Changeling, and my female Badgerdog is only a pup.

le sigh.

Something else I'm doing that I don't normally do is that I'm not on a river, nor a waterfall. I tend to embark in places with a waterfall that forks at the bottom. I figured I'd try someplace else to get better FPS.