Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Attack of the Clones!- DF clones discussion  (Read 2597 times)

joey4track

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Attack of the Clones!- DF clones discussion
« on: April 30, 2014, 11:13:16 am »

I go through spits and spurts of playing DF. Although I really don't mind the graphics(or lack therof), I really DO mind the awful awful UI, and this unfortunately keeps me from playing one of the coolest games ever made as much as I would like to. Recently I started playing RimWorld and I love it, I think it is my favorite DF clone even though in it's current state it is sorely lacking features and content. Which made me think about revisiting some of the other clones. I have Gnomoria and Towns both in my Steam library but I haven't really played them since I installed them and I imagine they are much more updated at this point. My favorite DF clone was Goblin Camp but this one sadly has been abandoned. Maybe I only liked it because at the time it was pretty much the only DF clone. But now, this is not the case.

So to those who have played many of them, what are your thoughts? How do they compare to DF? I haven't played Prison Architect but the engine for RimWorld really allows me to get into the game(some people have complained about the UI in RimWorld but I assume they have never played DF) I would just die if DF had a similar UI(and yes I know about the DF utilities..)

nenjin

• Bay Watcher
  • Inscrubtable Exhortations of the Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Attack of the Clones!- DF clones discussion
« Reply #1 on: April 30, 2014, 11:19:02 am »

First, calling all these games clones is a bit disingenuous and primes the conversation for a fight.