Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: First Attempt At Creature Design : Requesting Help  (Read 1744 times)

redpikeman

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
First Attempt At Creature Design : Requesting Help
« on: May 20, 2014, 10:40:46 am »

I'm hoping for help with this. This is my first attempt at making a creature, and since it isn't loading into the game, I must have done something wrong along the way.

Also, I'm trying to make them playable in fortress and adventure mode, though I really have no interest in playing them in fortress mode.
The files have been placed in the right folders with the other raws, so I don't believe that is the problem.

creature_gargoyle.txt

Spoiler (click to show/hide)

I added the adventure tokens and just copy/pasted the dwarf entity text in the entity_default.txt as the first entry, changing adventure tier to 4. Maybe that's where the problem is?

entity_default.txt 

Thanks ahead of time for your help!

lanp

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: First Attempt At Creature Design : Requesting Help
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2014, 11:00:52 am »

If you don't plan on playing them in fortress mode just make a new file called entity_gargoyle.txt with these as the contents. It would be best for compatibility with other mods if you avoid editing the default files when possible.

As for the creature file, make sure the first line is creature_gargoyle and then [OBJECT:CREATURE] on the line after.

If it still won't work after this post the contents of your errorlog.txt file.
« Last Edit: May 20, 2014, 11:03:51 am by lanp »

redpikeman

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2014, 11:37:02 am »

I made your changes, and it works in the test arena!

I'll see if the world gen creates them or if I can use them in Adventure mode.