Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Which furnace forges iron armor/weapons/items?  (Read 1574 times)

Svampen

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Which furnace forges iron armor/weapons/items?
« on: August 16, 2014, 03:44:03 am »

Hey there!

I'm new to df and just found this awesome mod!

What furnace do i need to be able to forge iron equipment for my beginning army?

The finishing forge just cold irons tin/bronze.
Do i need to conduct research and build an armory/weaponry to forge iron equipment?

I got the ore processor and smelter up and running..

Edit: Dwarf mode btw

Jilladilla

• Bay Watcher
  • Most Sleep Deprived
    • View Profile
Re: Which furnace forges iron armor/weapons/items?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2014, 04:04:24 am »

The ordinary vanilla forge is what you should use.

It's b-w-f to build it, it'll let you build non-advanced weapons/armor/misc from any metal

The armory lets you build heavy-duty plate armor and better shields for when you want to give your soldiers the absolute best in protection, it's very expensive to do though.

The weaponry gives you access to two-handed weapons, by far a lower priority when your army is still small (arrows will cripple soldiers without shields far too easily in my experience)

Oh and welcome to Bay12! Please leave your sanity on the coat hanger on your left.  ;D
« Last Edit: August 16, 2014, 04:11:25 am by Jilladilla »

Glory to United Forenia!

If you see a 'Nemonole' on the internet elsewhere, it's probably me

Svampen

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2014, 05:08:47 am »

Ah but ofcourse it's the vanilla one under workshops.. I've been pulling my hair looking for a furnace in the manual. :p
Thanks! :)

slay_mithos

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2014, 08:26:35 am »