Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Getting rid of migrants?  (Read 1018 times)

BesorgterZwerg

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Getting rid of migrants?
« on: July 23, 2014, 12:45:08 pm »

Hello,

i would like to know how i could get rid of the migrant waves? I'm quite new to DF, so i can barely handle my 50 dwarfs already but the waves won't just stop coming.

I tried to kill them by creating a squad, put everyone in and moved them under my bridge and pulled the lever... but now i got an annoying ghost.  :o

Is there a way to kill every single one of them in a clean way without any ghosts remaining and without destroying the loot?   :'(

Dame de la Licorne

• Bay Watcher
  • Cats? Check. FPS? Uh-oh...
    • View Profile
Re: Getting rid of migrants?
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2014, 12:50:27 pm »

Hiya,

If you go into the data folder, then the init subfolder, and open the d_init.txt file, near the bottom is an option to change the [POPULATION_CAP].  Set it to a number less than what you have, but keep in mind that it won't take effect until the next dwarven caravan/liaison leaves your map.

-Dame de la Licorne
If software was real world, then it'd be something equivalent of hitting a nail with a hammer and having a building collapse on the other side of town.

Don't worry people, sometimes -moments occur

BesorgterZwerg

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2014, 12:54:06 pm »

Hey,

thank you for the answer. Well, i hoped that i don't really need to cheat for my problem. :/
I'm also very greedy, so i want their damn stuff  :D

Zeranamu

• Bay Watcher
  • I am Z
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 23, 2014, 01:00:20 pm »

If you don't really care about the items, you can still squash them with bridges - memorializing the ghosted dwarf on a slab will get rid of the ghost for you.

Astrid

• Bay Watcher
  • This is a text.
    • View Profile