Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: How to be an archer at adventure mode?  (Read 4804 times)

DanielTDS

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
How to be an archer at adventure mode?
« on: August 24, 2014, 11:13:59 am »

I'm very new at adventure mode (tried like 3 times with melee weapons) but I really wanted to try an archer this time. The problem is: in my past adventures, finding bolts or arrows was something rare and, because of that, I begin to question if it is really a viable option to be an archer at adventure mode. Here are my questions:
1 - Are there specific places where I can get a lot of ammunition?
2-  Can I craft ranged ammunition?
3 - Is there any mod that I can use to make being and archer viable?

OBS: I've played only 0.34.11's version. I'm waiting for a lot of bugfixes in order to play 0.40.

smjjames

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: How to be an archer at adventure mode?
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2014, 11:32:15 am »

People will probably say don't and stick to throwing because archery has this wierd timelapse in it.

Robsoie

• Bay Watcher
  • Urist McAngry
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 24, 2014, 12:22:08 pm »

A possible method is to run a fortress and focus it on producing ammo that you'll set in easy to access stockpile.
Then retire your fortress (don't abandon it) and go play an archer in Adventure mode, go take (or you can roleplay trading) the ammo in your fortress stockpile
In case you survive long enough and run out of ammo, assuming your fortress is still alive (and have not been razed by an invasion) , retire for a time your adventurer in a site, unretire your fortress and manufacture more ammo
Then retire it and unretire your adventurer.

a smiling bearded cretin

• Bay Watcher
  • [NOTHOUGHT][NO_SLEEP]
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 24, 2014, 12:29:01 pm »