Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Last of the Dwarves  (Read 872 times)

tealc

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
Last of the Dwarves
« on: August 27, 2014, 05:52:16 pm »

Hey there,

First of all, I'm very new to Dwarf Fortress. Yesterday I started a game and played a few hours. Today I found out this miraculous Legends Viewer on the starter pack. So I looked through my world and found out that I'm basically the last of the Dwarves. The rest have been wiped out by a Dragon in year 8...

Does this have any repercussions for my current game? Will I still get traders and new Dwarves? I hope I don't have to start another world, I already put quite some time into my Fortress.

Ze_king

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Last of the Dwarves
« Reply #1 on: August 27, 2014, 06:29:10 pm »

No more migrants or dwarf traders. I suggest you play on, to see how logn yuo can keep the dwarven race alive. If there are any mods that allow you to take back old dwarven fortress through conquest I suggest getting them (unless they are not save compatible). You will still get Elf, human and the odd Globin/kobold trader if you are nearby them

Arbinire

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 27, 2014, 06:55:49 pm »

I know you're new to DF so this might be a tad out of your league yet, but try and revive the dwarven race!  Get a really well functioning fort going that can survive most seiges without turtling, retire, then start a new fort and expand.  If you're a real masochist with a lot of time on your hands, try to go from dead race to world conquerors!

Duuvian

• Bay Watcher
  • Internet ≠ Real Life
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2014, 09:20:34 pm »

Unless it's changed without me noticing off screen invasions automatically succeed so retiring and starting another may not work if the goblins are busy enough.