Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Tileset Editors?  (Read 4630 times)

UristWoodie

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Tileset Editors?
« on: October 02, 2014, 02:51:45 pm »

Newb question:

I've been looking for a decent editor to create a tileset for DF. I'm not an artist, nor a student, but I am a cheapskate.

So...looking for inexpensive or free tools that allow creation of tiles and setting up tilesets for DF. And any other utilities handy for working with the graphics sets.

The set I'm working towards is meant for TWBT, specifically to enhance the appearance of the default Workshops, so I really need to create new tiles, rather than assemble existing tiles.

CLA

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Tileset Editors?
« Reply #1 on: October 02, 2014, 03:44:57 pm »

Adobe used to offer a student license for Photoshop. Try if your university offers that. <- Misread your second sentence.
GIMP is more than good enough, (there's also Krita although I haven't used it myself).
But really, any bitmap editor that has layers and masks, supports png with alpha transparency and has basic tools such as pen, eraser, and selection tool is absolutely sufficient.
Apart from MSpaint, I can't think of a single program that wouldn't be good enough.
CLA - an ASCII-like Graphic Pack with simplified letter-like creature graphics. The simple and clean looks of ASCII with distinct creature graphics - best of both worlds!

http://www.bay12forums.com/smf/index.php?topic=105376.0

Vanst7

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: October 02, 2014, 09:59:59 pm »

Pretty much what CLA recommend. I find Gimp a really good free alternative to Photoshop.

Taffer

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2014, 06:47:35 pm »

I used to use GIMP regularly. It needed to be configured well to feel comfortable for me.