Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: 3D graphics question  (Read 11735 times)

rancid45

• Escaped Lunatic
    • View Profile
3D graphics question
« on: August 23, 2014, 04:15:17 pm »

I am a total newbie to Dwarf Fortress, and downloaded the starter pack today, for 40.09. I didn't see the 3D graphics that I had read about recently, and was wondering if this was because the Stonsense mod is for a previous version, or if there was something wrong on my end. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Xerberus

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: 3D graphics question
« Reply #1 on: August 23, 2014, 06:04:37 pm »

well there aren't really any 3D graphics, what you might mean is stonesense overlay which was / is an isometric overview which was usable in the DF2012 (34.11) release. but even in the old version the overlay was still kinda experimental if i remember correctly and the most functional way to play dwarf fortress is with one of its graphic sets / tilesets. there are a bunch of current ones out there, some might need an extra download & extraction into the /LNP/graphics folder of your starter pack package but there are enough options out there for you to use.

i am testing the different graphic sets myself out at the moment and at this wiki-page you can see a good overview of the different graphic packs with a comparison picture for each of them:

ironhand / iron16: has a more medieval look to it and slightly darker colored
Spoiler (click to show/hide)
- an updated ironhand version isn't in the current starter pack but if you extract the following zip / rar file and copy it to "x\Dwarf Fortress 40_09 Starter Pack r1\LNP\graphics" (also renaming it to ironhand16 would be good cause the folder is called just dwarf fortress after extraction) then you can also select the graphics pack from the starter pack.
DL-Link (DFFD): http://dffd.wimbli.com/file.php?id=7362