Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: So, I'm in completely over my head here...  (Read 4088 times)

MaximumZero

• Bay Watcher
  • Stare into the abyss.
    • View Profile
So, I'm in completely over my head here...
« on: December 13, 2014, 01:16:49 am »

Bay12, as some of you well know, I've been writing a P&P RPG engine for...well, forever. Here's the deal, I'll lay it out in nice, simple terms. I want to make a computer game based off of it. Now, that said, as some of you also well know, I'm not a programmer. I can make stuff appear in the command prompt window if I'm having a good day, and make the computer do a little math, and that's about it. The "Game Design" course I took in Community College was an absolute joke, and didn't do anything but discourage me from learning programming, but I'd like to get back on the horse.

Here's the biggest dilemma: I have no fucking clue where to get started making a real game. I have a little bit of very basic knowledge in C++, JAVA, and Visual Basic, but not enough to do anything (again, on a good day,) beyond "make a black box, have the user input something, spit out some numbers, and done." I don't know how to do mouse input, how to make any graphics of any kind appear on the screen, how to do any kind of usable keyboard input, et al. I'm very frustrated. A lot of tutorials go from "1+1=2" to "vf=vi+ve log(mi/mf)" with no steps in between. For some reason, I get lost.