Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: New player dilema: need advice!  (Read 1741 times)

Childeric

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
New player dilema: need advice!
« on: January 15, 2015, 07:47:31 pm »

Hello there,

Let me introduce myself here as it's my first post (but sadly for you, probably not the last one). I'm a 36 years old French guy, currently unemployed and looking for a job either as a computer technician (we're starting a small business around that, web design and a few other services with my boyfriend, hope it'll work) or as a lyric baritone singer.

I'm really new to dwarf fortress and came here after playing a lot to Gnomoria and a few to Rimworld, both in development and it seems they are both based on DF game mechanics. Here's my current questions :

1. Which version of the game I should play:
  • The older one (34.11) with the Masterworks bundle (6.2)?
  • The newest one with the Lazy pack (40.23)?
  • The latest one (40.24) without any utility or mod?
2. I went into some troubles with graphical tilesets with some glitches with the "standard" mode where the menu font is far too big (and squared). I found that 2 mode + True Type fonts seems to be the smoothest and most enjoyable config. But maybe you have some suggestion there. Which are the best parameters for Tileset/Font/Graphical mode?

3. I watched a few vid on YouTube and read a bit of the Wiki and other resources here on the forum but I still a bit lost in this game. Is there a particularly recommended post? Maybe using an oldest and less complex version of DF?

I'll stop here, I've a lot of questions but quite a few will find an answer as soon as I'll have really started playing this game.

Thank you for your help and please feel free to correct any spelling/grammar issue there as English isn't my mother language.

Kind Regards.

Arcvasti

• Bay Watcher
  • [IS_ALREADY_HERE] [FRIENDSHIPPER:HIGH]