Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Upper back pain  (Read 1190 times)

Levi

• Bay Watcher
  • Is a fish.
    • View Profile
Upper back pain
« on: January 26, 2015, 06:05:47 pm »

Well, I know the internet is the worst place to go for medical advice, but I'm giving it a shot anyway.

Over the past year or two I've been having a lot of days where my back/spine is getting pretty sore.  It seems to slowly be getting worse, and is probably posture related.  Does anybody have any advice on fixing or preventing future back-pain, or am I just fast-tracking my way to old-age?   :P

Avid Gamer | Goldfish Enthusiast | Canadian | Professional Layabout

malimbar04

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Upper back pain
« Reply #1 on: January 26, 2015, 08:07:57 pm »

Disclaimer; I'm not a doctor. this is just what I would try first.

Posture is really important for your back. If you hunch forward a lot, stretch your chest muscles and try to keep your shoulders in a confident broad position. Also, I'm pretty sure sleeping on a hard surface would help wonders. Sleeping on the floor keeps some basic bad pasture away, and also helps exercise your back. Soft bedding at best atrophies your muscles. At worst it actually bends it out of shape.

Don't discount seeing a doctor, physical therapist, or even a chiropractor. I don't like the last one since they also tend to push pseudo science alternative medicine.
No! No! I will not massacre my children. Instead, I'll make them corpulent on crappy mass-produced quarry bush biscuits and questionably grown mushroom alcohol, and then send them into the military when they turn 12...

gimlet

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 26, 2015, 08:10:04 pm »