Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Mac laptop vs other laptops?  (Read 1674 times)

3man75

• Bay Watcher
  • I will fire this rocket
    • View Profile
Mac laptop vs other laptops?
« on: January 29, 2015, 12:51:30 pm »

Hi I'm a student in college and I'm interested with the idea of buying a lap top.

I don't know if I want to buy a 800$ apple laptop or something else. I've heard that macs are for smart people ( is the quality that good or is this just hype?) And Microsoft is for the masses (worse quality/full of viruses.)

I'm making my decisions based off worth. I don't mind going for an expensive laptop as long as it pays me back with good service. So any advice or information on these brands? Or is there an even better laptops for college students that I have no idea about.

nenjin

• Bay Watcher
  • Inscrubtable Exhortations of the Soul
    • View Profile
Re: Mac laptop vs other laptops?
« Reply #1 on: January 29, 2015, 12:55:25 pm »

I've heard that macs are for smart people ( is the quality that good or is this just hype?) And Microsoft is for the masses (worse quality/full of viruses.)

You've been listening to hipster idiots.

Tech is not about how smart it makes you look. It's about what it can do for you.

Figure out what you want a laptop to be able to do well, and start from there. (I'm not going to bother rattling off what you should get if you don't know what you want it for other than "College!".) That those are the things you've heard tell me the people you're listening to don't know or care what their tech can do either, they're focused on it as a status symbol. Stop listening to fucking morons who don't know tech from their own asshole. Apples devices can get viruses just like PCs.
« Last Edit: January 29, 2015, 12:57:58 pm by nenjin »
Cautivo del Milagro seamos, Penitente.
Quote from: Viktor Frankl