Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 7

Author Topic: [SG] War for Mars  (Read 10336 times)

Parsely

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • My games!
[SG] War for Mars
« on: May 11, 2015, 03:55:08 pm »

So, I hear you want to know about the Martian War? No no, don't tell me, a journalist... That constant note-taking gives you away my friend; maybe you should buy a recorder, hah. My name? Yes you can have my name, my name is Gavin Dak. Back then... Yeah, the year was still 7XXX. I started the war as a private, I was a member of the 51st Earth Expeditionary Force. It formed in the same year we were dispatched to Mars to put a stop to the rebellion.

I had just touched planetside only a few months ago and hadn't met a single Martian partisan, though I'd heard many stories of their exploits. I was not fresh however, I'm also a veteran of the Outer Wars, which were some years hence at the time. I was quite happy in my military career, I had not even reached the rank of corporal. But in the course of that dire campaign, I was raised immediately to that of lieutenant and led my fellows in a desperate battle against a fierce and hardened enemy. I'm going to tell you the story of how that came about.

Ah, go ahead, ask a few questions before I get started. It's a long story and I don't want to be interrupted if I can help it.

So you were in the infantry? [Choose One]
- Yeah, I was just a regular grunt.
- No, I drove armored vehicles.

This is a short game to hold me over while Void Black starts up. It's also a test! Of...things! Also, I'm terrible, because I do letters nearly the same way every time when I pixel. :P

Credit for the intro goes to this Napoleonic memoir for the intro, which also inspired the events of the game.

---

This game is about being a leader. The following factors are vital and should be considered when giving your men orders: