Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: New player. Reborn or old? How to find embark biomes?  (Read 1377 times)

HerbalistRanger

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
New player. Reborn or old? How to find embark biomes?
« on: August 18, 2015, 01:28:57 am »

I just started playing DF starting with Reborn. I can't bring myself to do vanilla without tileset and masterwork looks like nothing but improvement. I got to where I can build basic wells and win some battles but still hate werebeasts. one showed up same time as migrants last game enraging me so took them out of my new worldgen.
Been getting some crashes probly from switching back and forth from youtube tutorials while playing music on winamp.

Now I'm wondering should I be playing the old complete version? Is new vanilla content bigger and better or is the old masterwork far more content. I play as dwarves in fortress mode and will stick with them. I want more enemies to fight when if I ever get to late game but not technically harder. Bit scared of fortress defense options I don't know what those races are capable of. I fear the night.

About 70% of my time with the game has been torturing myself over finding good embark. Is there an easier way to find the 4 biome inclusive 3x3 embark? I may be just too picky about it but I want many civs good metals and much content in my experience.
Finding a location has been a nightmare is there a tool or something I can use with multiple biomes added in find

Niveras

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: New player. Reborn or old? How to find embark biomes?
« Reply #1 on: August 18, 2015, 05:07:14 am »