Dwarf Fortress > DF Modding

Questions regarding enemies

(1/2) > >>

tahu16:
Hello, I would like to ‼buff‼ some enemies, please help me! (I warn you: I have no modding experience)

1)How can I modify the elf armor and weapons to be more like steel?
2)How can I (if it is possible at all) force goblins to gain exp. faster? (thus the sieges would bring more stronger goblins)
3)How can I force goblins to be as armored as possible? Usually they just wear 2 or 3 random pieces of armor, which is not enough.

kiwiphoenix:
1) Tricky. Vanilla elves use whatever wood is available to them...
You could make a tree with steel-like wood, and set it to grow (with a low frequency) in forest biomes - the elves would be likely to have at least one available in their lands, which would add it to the list they draw from when making weapons and armour. Most would still have flimsy crap, but the odd warrior here or there would pack a nasty surprise.
Other races would also be able to use this wood unless you made it GOOD - only elves can live in good regions by default. Of course, only elves who happened to settle in such regions would have access to improved weapons/armour.

A more universal solution would be to straight-up give them steel - if they have the reaction for it, they can make it. If that feels like a cop-out, you could make a whole new metal that never occurs in nature, and give it to them exclusively. A bit of a departure from Vanilla, but if you want harder elves, this is by far the more reliable way to go about it.