Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Dwarf State of Mind [Tiles + Optional Graphics][10x10][42.xx]  (Read 16316 times)

HelloLion

• Bay Watcher
  • [ENTITY:FOOLISH]
    • View Profile
Dwarf State of Mind [Tiles + Optional Graphics][10x10][42.xx]
« on: August 06, 2014, 04:02:45 pm »

Long, long ago I became interested in creating (and releasing) a tile/graphic set of some kind. this idea passed through several incarnations, starting with more graphics heavy sets, and eventually becoming more and more minimalist as my taste changed and I started playing with ASCII more. Originally I had been working in 16x16 and later in 12x12, but once I switched to playing with ASCII I found myself in love with 10x10. Something about this size offered the right amount of resolution to my eyes; big enough to get some detail, small enough to be nice and simple (and "retro"). After trying the 10x10 tilesets currently available I noticed that all of the ones I found seemed to be based on a fairly "purist" mindset. Now, don't get me wrong, there is nothing wrong with a pure ASCII experience. I play lots of games that are pure ASCII anyway, so it's not foreign to me by any means. Still though, I found myself eventually pining for certain conveniences and decorative qualities of graphic sets. So I decided to make this tileset as a compromise by compiling parts of various 10x10 tilesets that I liked as well as hand drawing things that I couldn't find anything satisfactory for to create something simple, but enjoyable to look at (including a little Tile Magic on the floors and walls) without sacrificing the simplicity and elegance of the ASCII aesthetic as much as possible. The result, which I am proud to present, is Dwarf State of Mind.