Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Declaring War  (Read 2114 times)

Callista

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Declaring War
« on: August 26, 2015, 09:44:28 am »

If you are playing the Mountainhome in fortress mode, you should be able to have your civilization declare war and offer peace.

Peace offers should not necessarily be accepted.

Declaring war should require a living monarch or possibly a living general.

Offering peace should require some sort of diplomat (outpost liaison?) be present.
« Last Edit: August 26, 2015, 09:47:11 am by Callista »

Iamblichos

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Declaring War
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2015, 09:51:17 am »

I agree.  +1
I'm new to succession forts in general, yes, but do all forts designed by multiple overseers inevitably degenerate into a body-filled labyrinth of chaos and despair like this? Or is this just a Battlefailed thing?

There isn't much middle ground between killed-by-dragon and never-seen-by-dragon.

quekwoambojish

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2015, 10:13:59 am »

+1... short, simple, makes sense

PastequeSauvage

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2015, 05:09:23 pm »

That would be awesome to send a outpost liaison and receive back his head.   :o

Putnam

• Bay Watcher
  • DAT WIZARD
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 28, 2015, 06:10:33 am »

This sort of brings up odd issues of monarch agency.

Vattic

• Bay Watcher
  • bibo ergo sum
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: August 28, 2015, 07:37:28 am »

This sort of brings up odd issues of monarch agency.
Perhaps another instance where it's appropriate for the player to be able to act through a noble? I guess it could take the Fun out of ending up with a mad king or similar.
6 out of 7 dwarves aren't Happy.
How To Generate Small Islands

Icefire2314

• Bay Watcher