Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: When to upgrade version?  (Read 1634 times)

Ravendarksky

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
    • DFMon.exe - Get rid of DF SPAM
When to upgrade version?
« on: January 11, 2016, 09:16:28 am »

Hi all,

I'm fairly new at looking properly into dwarffortress and maintaing saves across multiple releases. With toady releasing things faster and faster these days it's gotten to the point when I really want ot carry my saves between versions if possible.

HOWEVER when the raws are changed by toady it seems to break my saves. I get messages like FATAL ERROR: Missing Creature Definition: TIGERMAN

My question is:
Is there any way we can tell what changes toady makes are to the core game and which ones require the new raws? This would allow me to make the decision if it's worth giving up my saves or not.

Also is it possible to save old saves to use the new raws? I'm guessing the answer is NO.

Niddhoger

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: When to upgrade version?
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 01:30:11 pm »

Actually yes.  Toady specifically mentioned that saves from the DF2014 (.40) were compatible with this current release (.42.XX).  However, as you noticed, it wasn't entirely accurate.  I've also seen people have missing raws when it comes to new interactions (like making paper). Mostly, its changes that occur during world-generation that don't get reflected during the migration.  Like performing troupe and master-apprentice relationships wouldn't happen during .40 worldgen, and would still be missing when moved to .42.  Since worldgen continues during play, you'd -eventually- see performing troupes show up in your new taverns (I think).