Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2 3

Author Topic: "With a band so large..."  (Read 4004 times)

August

• Bay Watcher
  • "No, Urist. You are the Goblins."
    • View Profile
"With a band so large..."
« on: January 11, 2016, 02:24:43 pm »

So this is my first time playing an adventurer since 34.11, and I seem to be having trouble increasing my reputation. I've killed about two-dozen goblins by now, which should have given me the reputation required to recruit more than two companions at a time. Yet, no matter how much I boast of my violent acts, or discuss incidents in which I slew various gobbos, no one wants to join me. The wiki doesn't seem to have any answers either, at least not the pages I was reading.

Am I missing something here? What needs to be done in the current version to increase your reputation and gather more troops?

As an aside, the new poetry/music/storytelling stuff is pretty cool. I'm excited to spread the arts across my universe as a travelling warrior-bard.
Welcome to the forums, August!
Please leave your sanity on the coat hanger to your left.

Robsoie

• Bay Watcher
  • Urist McAngry
    • View Profile
Re: "With a band so large..."
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2016, 02:41:24 pm »

That limitation is probably like that because the world is much less dangerous in current version than it was in 34.11,  by example you can destroy whole bandit lairs by yourself now without needing to have a very experienced adventurer.

Some people have mentionned you can recruit a lot more followers as a "troupe" instead of recruiting them by asking to join, maybe try that.

Klitri

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 11, 2016, 02:49:23 pm »

Nope, I've had TONS of followers without needing to dance.

Kill more significant monsters.
"A giant cave bat, a giant cave swallow, and a troll wander into my fort's cagetraps..."

August

• Bay Watcher