Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  
Pages: [1] 2

Author Topic: Influence  (Read 2898 times)

CptAWatts22

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Influence
« on: April 22, 2016, 08:03:54 am »

Hello, I'm new to the game and I have a couple questions. Do my actions have real effects on the towns and cities around me? Can I help a Civ win a war or at least survive? Can I help a town grow? Thanks for anything you can answer.

Shonai_Dweller

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Influence
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2016, 08:20:21 am »

Populations are tracked, so if you kill all of an approaching army, it'll be dead and you'll have saved the town from being taken over.
If you then venture over to the dark fortress and kill all 10,000 or so goblins, before they have a chance to breed, they'll stay dead.

Trolls will regenerate for some reason, but I don't think they'll send out armies by themselves (they're basically pets). Zombies too (needs more Science).

Killing titans will stop titans destroying towns.

The world is alive, so yeah, you'll be able to help out a little. Sadly romance isn't a feature (yet) so helping a town grow may be difficult. No economy either, so survival is about the best gift you can give a town.

NW_Kohaku

• Bay Watcher
  • [ETHIC:SCIENCE_FOR_FUN: REQUIRED]
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 23, 2016, 01:18:31 am »

If you don't like the interactivity of the game in its current state, stick around a year or so, and the next major version might have the ability to really influence the world through the capacity to actually build major structures or build up towns wherever you go.

If that still seems a little shallow for you, pop by a year later, and who knows, maybe we'll have merchants by then.