Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Changes to water pressure?  (Read 1738 times)

Iamblichos

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Changes to water pressure?
« on: April 27, 2016, 09:19:40 am »

So here's the situation:

Previously, when building a well, I would produce a U-pipe into a reservoir a few levels below the actual well.  A diagonal at the bottom keeps the flow from filling beyond the reservoir.

This time I constructed it as usual and sent a miner to punch through into the underground river.  The entire hallway immediately flooded to a depth of 7 with no warning, and drowned the miner (without moving his body, so there was no water movement).  It was instantaneous. EDIT: For the sake of clarity, previously, water ran in at a normal rate - this was effectively "water teleporting".

Is this a new thing?
« Last Edit: April 27, 2016, 12:06:45 pm by Iamblichos »
I'm new to succession forts in general, yes, but do all forts designed by multiple overseers inevitably degenerate into a body-filled labyrinth of chaos and despair like this? Or is this just a Battlefailed thing?

There isn't much middle ground between killed-by-dragon and never-seen-by-dragon.

PatrikLundell

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: Changes to water pressure?
« Reply #1 on: April 27, 2016, 12:18:47 pm »

I haven't heard about such a thing, but I've never heard about an underground river either (well, maybe in reports from very old DF version with seasonal flooding and whatnot, but not in the 0.40.X-> I'm familiar with). I AM aware pressure is wonky upwards however, but that has usually resulted in a failure to flow unless prompted, rather than excessive flow.

Mostali

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 27, 2016, 12:29:48 pm »

Was the water above the breach more than 1z deep? 

Iamblichos

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 27, 2016, 12:40:36 pm »