Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Aquatic cavern creatures?  (Read 1495 times)

SQman

• Bay Watcher
  • Gnot a gnelf
    • View Profile
Aquatic cavern creatures?
« on: June 12, 2016, 05:18:50 pm »

First of all, I'm new to modding, so bear with me guys. Even if the answer to this question is really obvious to most, it's not obvious to me.

Basically, I'm planning on making a mod that adds a couple of creatures to the caverns, and some of these are supposed to be aquatic. The problem is that I've never seen a fully aquatic non-vermin underground creature in any mod, so I'm not sure if it would work. Would they be able to spawn and then leave the map correctly? If so, if I gave some of them [BEACH_FREQUENCY], would they beach like "aboveground" whales do?

The mod is still in early planning, so I'd appreciate if someone who's ever tried this told me if I should even bother with making those creatures.

smakemupagus

• Bay Watcher
  • [CANOPENDOORS]
    • View Profile
Re: Aquatic cavern creatures?
« Reply #1 on: June 12, 2016, 05:23:35 pm »

Never tried it explicitly, but [BIOME:SUBTERRANEAN_WATER] should work, no? 
(ref: http://dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/DF2014:Biome_token)

Eric Blank

• Bay Watcher
  • *Remain calm*
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2016, 06:08:48 pm »

That'd give them a biome yeah, but then he wants to know if they can be fully aquatic.