Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: RAWs for path of scientific development/research  (Read 1106 times)

twryst

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
RAWs for path of scientific development/research
« on: June 27, 2016, 12:50:04 pm »

Hello!
Are the secrets modifiable/appendable in the RAWs or via Dfhack? I'm new to modding but am falling in love with libraries at my MWDF orc fortress and would like to try to expand the tech tree with some medical discoveries and logic/computation discoveries if possible.

Probably nothing that would actually effect gameplay, just some new strings.

Is this currently possible? Would anybody have some advice where to look?

I am a programmer but am new to DF modding, in case that's relevant.
Thank you!
« Last Edit: June 27, 2016, 01:16:20 pm by twryst »

twryst

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Re: RAWs for path of scientific development/research
« Reply #1 on: June 27, 2016, 02:08:16 pm »

Nevermind, it's all hardcoded:

https://github.com/DFHack/df-structures/commit/db79fe8058839d1582cc1bfdd73a51ec9bbde20c

Here I was picturing a civilization-like stupidly-detailed tech tree extending up to the modern era. Bummer.

FantasticDorf

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 27, 2016, 03:59:36 pm »

This is all very nice regardless. Perhaps this thread would be better purposed as a suggestion thread with each section broadly detailed for some detail. Same goes for having all these nice functions to write about (more topics other than reading how the same farmer settled in a province) that im sure toady wouldn't object to, in fleshing out the range of topics

To pull out a few of particular interest where they seem like the sort of thing to contain secrets/acquired abilities