Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Slyce - A 14x14 Almost-ASCII Tileset  (Read 5722 times)

carnivorn

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Slyce - A 14x14 Almost-ASCII Tileset
« on: July 03, 2016, 02:55:01 am »

Since I haven't seen any other 14x14 sets, I'm sharing my own! I made it because I'm super picky about font size and appearance - I have trouble reading pure ascii text due to the spacing, find 16px too large, 12px too small, and both 13px and 15px too blurry. This is an edit from the 8x14 EGA font, as posted here: http://dwarffortresswiki.org/index.php/Tileset_repository#8.C3.9714 (forgive me I'm still learning forum coding)

So presenting Slyce!
A tileset featuring (very) subtly shaded terrain, bright leaves, rounded walls, custom dwarf and adventurer tiles, and wall/floor patterning that only shows up when engraved*. Requires changing the pillar and tree trunk tiles to 255 (don't forget to change the tile for cap-type trees! my apologies if I changed any other tiles and forgot, they would have been changed long before I made this)

*And on wounded creatures and the elevation bar when above ground. Works best with a colour scheme using pure black. Might work with very very dark colours, but I tried it with a handful of Vherid's palettes to check and it didn't hold up well. Sorry to those who aren't a fan of high contrast. I can make edits for specific colour schemes if there's interest.

Caverns:
Spoiler (click to show/hide)
Walls and Floors:
Trees, Terrain, and Farms:
Text:

and if anyone's interested, my colour scheme:

There you have it! I have some simple racial graphics in this style in the works but those will be a while. Feedback appreciated!

Max™

• Bay Watcher
  • [CULL:SQUARE]
    • View Profile
Re: Slyce - A 14x14 Almost-ASCII Tileset
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2016, 07:29:29 pm »