Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Graduation, The Final Stretch  (Read 1139 times)

xDarkz

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Graduation, The Final Stretch
« on: November 22, 2016, 03:37:09 am »

I'm graduating next month. This will be my second degree. I'm graduating with my Bachelor's in Nursing. It was a long, hard, tortuous journey filled with many clinical hours and countless weekends.

Some context: I graduated high school in 2009 and started college that very same Fall. I did all my pre-requisites to get into a nursing program which took me a couple of years. I had a 3.7 GPA, unfortunately, I wasn't accepted into the school I was currently in. Naturally, I went through a period of depression but I pushed on through and applied elsewhere. I got into a nursing Associate's program a little way away. After many hours of being in class, studying and being stuck in traffic, I graduated from that Associate's program.

I applied for a job at a local hospital and was hired. I worked on the cardiopulmonary unit for almost two years. At this point, I am both working and going back to school at my first college, the one that initially rejected me. I got into their program and I'm closing in on the graduating date.

Fast forward to today. I got my cap, gown and what-not. I was ecstatic. I came home, laid out my outfit and decided to show my parents. Their reaction? They seemed indifferent, frustrated even. I later learned that my youngest sister had decided to spend Thanksgiving weekend at her boyfriend's house and took off today. While I understand them being frustrated by that, being indifferent toward such an important achievement makes me feel.... dispirited.