Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Expanded Documentation for DF Hack or tutorials?  (Read 2365 times)

Zerim

• Bay Watcher
  • One man's past is another man's weapon
    • View Profile
Expanded Documentation for DF Hack or tutorials?
« on: November 22, 2016, 08:57:31 pm »

After spending quite a bit of time through the DF Hack user manual, I've been having a troubling time figuring out what I'm supposed to do with the tools given to me. I can see it has mod tools, but it just give me a set of standard functions and not much else. It seems strange to me that the program encourages users to make use of its advanced features, but do nothing more than tell them to figure it out on their own?

That's what I never understood about DF's modding community. It appears that almost everyone is self-taught in some way, and the only in-depth and meaningful tutorial that I've been able to find is on the wiki. I have done extensive searching and have found absolutely no meaningful or helpful tutorials on utilizing DF Hack, and that's incredibly strange to me. Surely, with all the time DF Hack has been out, no one has thought to write up even a brief tutorial for new modders?

How am I to make use of these functions and scripts and plugins? How do I make custom raws? How do I make custom syndromes and announcements? It seems that the only way to figure these things out, is to indeed do intense research through both the documentation and the files provided in DF Hack. I found that looking through Deon's Fallout Mod was an interesting way to see how things worked, but there needs to be a a more comprehensive and in-depth guide for making such modifications.

If there are any in-depth guides for creating mods that take advantage of DF Hack's features, please let me know.

Warmist

• Bay Watcher
  • Master of unfinished jobs
    • View Profile