Bay 12 Games Forum

Please login or register.

Login with username, password and session length
Advanced search  

Author Topic: Something Fun is happening  (Read 843 times)

Lozzymandias

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
Something Fun is happening
« on: March 21, 2017, 07:48:05 pm »

Veteran player but new to 43.xx. An interesting change from earlier versions is that the dead now rise from the grave, rather than being locked rattling in their coffins to sleep forever. What follows it is more interesting. Once the offending corpse has been redeadened, he will be transfered back and forth from the refuse pile to his tomb again and again.

Anyone else encountered this? Any solutions other than feeding his corpse to the fires?
"Come on, you sons of elves, do you want to live forever?"

Screamy

• Bay Watcher
  • ^Utter newb. Please advice.
    • View Profile
Re: Something Fun is happening
« Reply #1 on: March 21, 2017, 09:38:14 pm »

Now; disclaimer, I´m a complete newb, but I might have seen this issue tackled in an LP.

Did you perchance settle in a haunted biome?

PatrikLundell

• Bay Watcher
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 22, 2017, 04:28:48 am »

I haven't encountered it, nor do I have any solution apart from eliminating the corpse and using a slab. Well, I guess you could 'f'orbid the corpse while it briefly lies in the coffin to prevent if from being hauled away again.

However, 0.42.01 and onward corpses of undead former sapients are now considered non sapient corpses that belong to the refuse stockpile and do not inspire horror (even in the skittish merchant wagons). Non dwarven sapient corpses were hauled to the refuse stockpile before (inspiring horror), but now all of them are hauled to the corpse stockpile (there is no way to distinguish friend from foe, as the corpse stockpile doesn't have any additional settings). Note: corpse stockpile /= refuse/corpse stockpile sub section.